Jack Sundberg: Project 3

The goal of this project was create a sculpture to compliment an outdoor space on Denison’s campus, and being a chemistry major, I designed an abstract sculpture for the Ebaugh Laboratory. However, thinking of an abstract design proved much more difficult than I expected… I started with what I thought would be useful for the landscape: a desk which incorporated aspects of chemistry (i.e. the benzene ring & glassware). Disappointed, I moved on to more abstract ideas, leading me to my final design:

AbstractChemistry.jpg

At first glance, the structure appears to be just a simple, textured cartoon atom, but the novelty comes from looking at it from different angles. The sculpture is of an atom from the angle shown, yet it depicts a erlenmeyer flask from an 90 degree angle. These two images are more clearly seen here:

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 9.19.42 PM.png             Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 9.19.59 PM.png

One thing I’d like to point out is how there is a smooth side to the atom (shown in the 3D render but not the photoshop). Ideally, I would want one clear-cut object as students/faculty approach from each direction — not the textured atom like in the photoshopped image. I would therefore want the sculpture rotated 180 degrees if it were truely placed to my liking!

All in all, it’s a simple little design that will be sure to grab some attention if placed correctly! Here’s an interactive model on Sketchfab and  Thingiverse:

This entry was posted by sundbej1.

Leave a Reply

