Project I

Project Preparation

For my first project I decided to design an interesting object composed of geometric shapes. We were tasked with designing and printing an object made of multiple parts, that can be printed as a fully assembled single print and can move. I have posted my design on sketchfab(embedded below) and thingiverse. Thingiverse also cites the design where I got my information from for inspiration.

Printing Process

It took two tries to successfully print my object,  featured below. In order to construct the object I used Fusion 360 and hand drew the lines necessary.  I designed several other objects but I felt most confident in the simplicity of this model. I originally wanted it to function as a coin flip with ‘yes’ and ‘no’ printed on opposite sides of the spinning circle. This would have given it a more utilitarian function than it has now. I felt challenged by the assignment as many of the models I wanted to make that were movable were printed in several parts rather just one. This was a great exercise and I look forward to learning more about it.

 

 

 

This entry was posted by colin.

Leave a Reply

