A curious little penguin!

For our first project, we were asked to make something that prints all in one go but has some sort of movable or articulating parts. Quite a challenge! I’m working on some more difficult designs that involve hinges, but to turn in for Friday I’ve made a little penguin figurine! It’s going to make a nice present to someone I know who really likes penguins, and the moving wings should be a fun touch.

To create this little guy I used a lot of geometrical shapes because I think that’s a cute way to make a recognizable animal, especially one as rotund as a penguin. For the wings I used the filet tool to give them that rounded form. And to give him a bit of personality, I made him cocking his head inquisitively–it’s more fun when your figurines are doing something while they sit.

I have yet to print this guy, and can update when I do. I’m going to attempt to print him standing up first, because visually the bottom is the best part to be squished flat! I do not think there will be too much difficult printing in this orientation, though I will need to make sure the wings are properly supported–I learned that when trying to make elephant ears!

You can upload the stl file for this little guy from Thingiverse!

I’ve included some views of him from different angles so you can see the full 3D object:

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.01.29 PM

From the side!

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.01.45 PM

Not much going on in the back…

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.02.03 PM

Maybe you want to look at the bottom?

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.02.18 PM

Okay, this top view is just for fun mostly.

This entry was posted by hannahsg.

Leave a Reply

